December 19, 2018

Kenya Commission for University Education

The Commission for University Education, hereinafter CUE, was established under the Universities Act, No. 42 of 2012, as the successor to the Commission for Higher Education. It is the Government agency mandated to regulate university education in Kenya.

The CUE undertakes recognition and equation of Diplomas, Degrees, Post-graduate Diplomas and Post-graduate Certificates conferred or awarded by Foreign Universities and Institutions in accordance with Section 5 (1) (g) of The Universities Act No. 42 of 2012; Section 5A (2) of The Universities Act No. 42 of 2012, Revised Edition 2016 [2015]; Part XI of The Universities Regulations, 2014 and The Universities Standards and Guidelines, 2014.

General Requirements for Recognition and Equation of Qualifications

  1. The qualification must be Accredited and Recognized.
  2. The qualification must have been obtained from an accredited and recognized University or Institution.
  3. The holder of the Award must have met the Minimum Entry Requirements for an Academic Programme leading to an equivalent qualification in Kenya.
  4. All copies of Certificates and Academic Transcripts presented as proof of attainment of entry requirements for a particular qualification must be certified by an Advocate and Commissioner for Oaths (for Kenyan citizens), an Advocate and Notary Public (for foreigners) OR the issuing University/Institution.

>>>>>>Click here to download the requirements