Visa Application


A   visa is a conditional authorization granted by a country to a foreigner allowing them to enter, remain within or to leave the country. It is an endorsement on a passport indicating the holder is allowed to enter leave or stay for a specified period of time in a country.



These include:

    1. Tourist visas
    2. Treaty and investor visas
    3. Student visas
    4. Specialist occupation visas

They include:

  1. Family sponsored immigration visas
  2. Employee Sponsored immigrant visas


Nationals of the Countries Listed Below may be issued with an eVisas Upon Application on (category 2 Countries)

Albania Algeria Andorra
Angola Antigua and Bermuda Argentina
Australia Austria Bahrain
Bangladesh Belarus Belgium
Benin Bhutan Bolivia
Bosnia Brazil Bulgaria
Burkina Faso Cambodia Canada
Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad
Chile (Nationalist) China (China P.R.) Columbia
Comoros Congo (Brazzaville) Costa Rica
Cote de voire Croatia Cuba
Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti
Dominican Republic DRC East Timor
Ecuador Egypt El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea Estonia Finland
France French Guyana Gabon
Georgia Germany Greece
Greenland Guatemala Guinea
Guinea Bissau Haiti Herzegovina
Honduras Hong Kong (Holders of Hong Kong special administrative region) Hungary
Iceland India Indonesia
Iran Ireland Israel
Italy Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kirghizstan Korea (South)
Kuwait Laos Latvia
Liberia Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Macedonia Madagascar
Malta Marshall Islands Mauritania
Mexico Micronesia Moldavia
Monaco Mongolia Montenegro
Morocco Mozambique Myanmar (Formerly Burma)
Nepal Netherlands New Zealand
Nicaragua Niger Nigeria
Norway Oman Pakistan
Palau Pacific Isles Panama Paraguay
Peru Philippines Poland
Portugal Qatar Romania
Russia Russia Salvador
Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Serbia
Slovakia Slovenia Southern Sudan
Spain Sri Lanka St. Christopher Cape
Sudan Suriname Sweden
Switzerland Taiwan Thailand
Timor East Togo Tunisia
Turkey Turkmenistan UAE
Ukraine United Kingdom Uruguay
USA Uzbekistan Vatican City
Venezuela Vietnam Yemen

Nationals Exempted from obtaining a Visa (category 1 Countries)

Barbados Malawi St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Belize Malaysia (For less than 30 days stay) St.Kitts and Nevis
Botswana Mauritius St.Lucia
Brunei Namibia Swaziland
Burundi Nauru Tanzania
Cyprus New Guinea The Bahamas
Darussalam Papua Tobago
Dominica Rwanda Tonga
Fiji Island Samoa Trinidad
Ghana Seychelles Tuvalu
Grenada Sierra Leone Uganda
Jamaica Singapore Vanuatu
Kiribati Solomon Islands Zambia
Lesotho South Africa (For less than 30 days stay) Zimbabwe

The following can NOT make e-Visa applications on eCitizen. These Nationals of countries, classes and categories of persons require Referred Visas. The VISA applications are referred to the Director of Immigration services for processing and approval.

Afghanistan Armenia Azerbaijan
Cameroon Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (Formerly North Korea) Eritrea
Iraq Kosovo Lebanon
Libya Mali Palestine
Senegal Somalia Syria


A student pass is a document issued to applicants who are foreign students as per section 30(1) of the Citizenship and Immigration Regulations 2012, who wish to pursue their education in Kenya where they have been admitted or accepted. The applicant must be accepted as a student by approved Educational or training Establishment. A student pass can be applied through creating a log in account within the Government of Kenya single sign in portal ( The account helps one access the Efns Portal.


This a document issued to non-Kenyans wishing to engage in employment in Kenya whether in gainful or voluntary service. They are issued under the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act of 2012 Laws of Kenya.